Theodor-Fontane-Archiv

We are a literary archiv and an academic institute in the faculty of arts at the Unversity of Potsdam. Theodor Fontane (1819-1898), his time and his contemporaries form the core of our work. Founded in 1935, the archive resides in the Villa Quandt at the foot of the Potsdam Pfingstberg. Our team of literary and cultural scientists, archivists, librarians, and student workers render services in everything Fontane and Fontane research, complete research projects and host cultural events.  

Scope of Operations

Literary Archive

Established out of Fontane’s literary estate, the Theodor Fontane Archive commands over a comprehensive inventory of manuscripts, documents and realia, which has been continuously augmented through acquisitions and expanded through reception certificates. Moreover, we command over a constantly augmented library with nearly all literature to and from Fontane.

 

Collections & Holdings

Research Institute

As a scientific institution we conduct foundational research, compile bibliographies, editions, and research publications, and invite to symposiums and congresses. In cooperation with universities and research institutes in the region, we perform experiments with an emphasis lying inter alia in the field of digitalisation from literary archives and Digital Humanities. 

 

Research

Cultural Institution

As a memory institution and meeting place for Theodor Fontane and his time, the archive invites to a diverse cultural educations and experience offerings for Fontane newcomers and fontane experts. We organise tours, lectures, workshops for pupils and students, readings and discussions in the Villa Quandt at the foot of Potsdam's Pfingstberg.

Cultural Institution

About the Fontane Archive

History

Since its founding in 1935, the Theodor Fontane Archive has had a chequered history in the Third Reich, in the GDR and the Federal Republic of Germany. Here, we introduce you to a few stations of this German-German history.

History

Team

The Theodor Fontane team is composed of experienced Fontane experts and engaged up-and-coming scientists. You can meet the faces of the archive here. 

 

Theodor Fontane Archive Team

Services

The Theodor Fontane Archive offers numerous services: from support in research and publication, and work in our reading room, to releases for photo rights.
 

Service

Digital Fare

Fontane's Digital Manuscripts

The Theodor Fontane Archive has digitised the entirety of its manuscripts. The holdings of digital manuscript collection will be put successively on the internet.

 

Digital Manuscripts

Fontane Bibliography Online

The 3 volume Fontane Bibliography, compiled from Wolfgang, was published in 2006. An updated and expanded Bibliography can be accessed as an online databank since 2019.

Fontane Bibliography Online

Fontane Blätter Digitisation

The first 50 volumes of the biannual “Fontane Blätter”, published since 1965, have been digitised in cooperation with the Potsdam University Library.

 

Fontane Blätter Digital

Theodor-Fontane-Archiv

Wir sind ein Literaturarchiv und eine wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Potsdam. Im Zentrum unserer Arbeit stehen Theodor Fontane (1819−1898), seine Zeit und seine Zeitgenoss*innen. Gegründet 1935, ist das Archiv heute in der Villa Quandt am Potsdamer Pfingstberg beheimatet, wo ein Team aus Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaftler*innen, Archivar*innen, Bibliothekar*innen und studentischen Mitarbeiter*innen Dienstleistungen rund um Fontane und die Fontaneforschung erbringt, Forschungsprojekte durchführt und kulturelle Veranstaltungen ausrichtet.

Tätigkeitsfelder

Literaturarchiv

Aufbauend auf Fontanes literarischem Nachlass verfügt das Theodor-Fontane-Archiv über einen umfangreichen Bestand an Handschriften, Dokumenten und Realien, der durch Erwerbungen kontinuierlich ergänzt und durch andere Rezeptionszeugnisse erweitert wird. Zudem verfügen wir über eine ständig erweiterte Bibliothek mit nahezu sämtlicher Literatur von und zu Fontane.

Sammlungen & Bestände

Forschungsinstitut

Als wissenschaftliche Einrichtung betreiben wir Grundlagenforschung, erarbeiten Bibliographien, Editionen und Forschungspublikationen, laden zu Symposien und Kongressen ein. In Kooperation mit  Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen der Region führen wir Forschungsprojekte durch, wobei  Forschungsschwerpunkte u.a. im Feld der Digitalisierung von Literaturarchiven und der Digital Humantities liegen.

Forschung

Kultureinrichtung

Als Gedächtnisinstitution und Begegnungsstätte zu Theodor Fontane und seiner Zeit lädt das Archiv zu einem vielfältigen kulturelles Bildungs- und Erlebnisangebot für Fontane-Neulinge und Fontane-Kenner*innen ein. So veranstalten wir etwa Führungen, Vorträge, Workshops für Schüler*innen und Studierende, Lesungen oder Diskussionen in der Villa Quandt am Potsdamer Pfingstberg.

Veranstaltungen

Über das Theodor-Fontane-Archiv

Geschichte

Seit seiner Gründung 1935 hat das Theodor-Fontane-Archiv eine bewegte Geschichte im Dritten Reich, in der DDR und der Bundesrepublik durchlaufen. Einige Stationen dieser deutsch-deutschen Geschichte stellen wir Ihnen hier vor.

Geschichte

Team

Das Team des Theodor-Fontane-Archivs setzt sich aus erfahrenen Fontane-Expert*innen und engagierten Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen zusammen. Hier können Sie die Gesichter des Archivs kennenlernen.

Das Team des Theodor-Fontane-Archivs

Services

Das Theodor-Fontane-Archiv bietet Ihnen zahlreiche Dienstleistungen an: Von der Unterstützung bei Forschungs- und Publikationsvorhaben über die Arbeit in unserem Lesesaal bis hin zur Gewährung von Bildrechten.

Service

Digitale Angebote

Fontanes Handschriften digital

Das Theodor-Fontane-Archiv hat sämtliche seiner Handschriftenbestände digitalisiert. In der digitalen Handschriften-Sammlung stellen wir diese Bestände sukzessive online.

Digitale Handschriftensammlung

Fontane Bibliographie online

2006 erschien in 3 Bänden die von Wolfgang Rasch erarbeitete Fontane Bibliographie. Die aktualisierte und erweiterte Bibliographie steht seit 2019 als Online-Datenbank zur Verfügung.

Fontane Biographie online